Mining turtle excavate issue - turn right forever loop

Started by faintvirus, Dec 14, 2020, 11:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

faintvirus

Hello!

I am new to Computercraft and Lua, but I have read a lot on "How to Lua", read several posts on different websites, forums, and guides. I have also looked into the in-built excavate function and looked at other people's codes to understand different parts and concepts.

I have been trying since friday to create a program that can:

- Assign x, z, y
- Store as xPos, zPos, yPos for returning to working position
- return to origin for fueling purposes (in case I cannot find it...)
- read position and direction to know when to go up, down, turn left/right...
- Use an ender chest (ender storage) to store items (which in turn is entered into an ME system)
- Condensing the inventory if all slots are taken (not currently in use, but is done)

This is the result: https://pastebin.com/jYvvBHUr

Separate functions have been tested and returned the correct output/expected result. The problem occurs when initiating the "MAIN" program. Upon entering a value (ex. mine 10 10 10) the turtle initiates a lovely pirouette forever-loop...

Here is what confuses me the most:

==MAIN==

while not done and isStuck() do -- stuck = false

- calculate current fuel level - 1
- calculate necessary fuel amount

-- if current < necessary, enter while loop for refueling
=> even when the turtle has 0 fuel, it never enters this loop.

if I assign xDir = 0 originally, the turtle spins. If I assign xDir = 1 it skips the entire "MAIN" section, runs the storeItems() function and prints the final message:
     "Mining process - completed."

I assume there is a while loop that is too strict, telling the robot to turn right when direction xDir == x and then never updating the xDir to another value, but I am struggling to find where it happens..