Main Menu

Custom Api on server

Started by Beaver, Nov 03, 2020, 09:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Beaver

Hi guys, i'm new to cc programming and lua in general, and i have a little problem. I want to use a custom API from internet, but I dont know how to do that. The method changed from cc version to cc version, so i dont know what tuto reading. Also i am playing on a server, so probably the process is different. I am using cc version 1.75 on mc version 1.7.10.
Thank you in advance, and if someone already answered that in another post, please let me know.

LDDestroier

In older versions of ComputerCraft, you would load APIs with the os.loadAPI() function. However, that's now considered poopy practice (it infects the global scope -- I'm not going to get into why exactly that's bad), so instead, you should use require.
For instance, you want to load in BigFont:

bigfont = require "bigfont"
bigfont.bigPrint("Hello, world!")

That line of code will load bigfont.lua and let you use it with the "bigfont" table. Don't add the ".lua" part of the filename into the argument for require, because require interprets them like slashes, like for going down directories.
(If you're wondering about the lack of parentheses, they're optional when you're only passing a single argument through it, and only if it's a string.)

As for downloading the APIs themselves, you can still just use the pastebin command, or on later versions, the wget command. Most APIs these days are usable with require, so don't worry about maybe sometimes having to use os.loadAPI(). I hope that covers what you're asking about.

Lupus590